Meet the Town of Gaston, South Carolina’s Town Council

At the Town of Gaston, South Carolina, our committed Town Council strives to maintain the community’s prosperity through different plans and activities. Learn more about our Town Council and its members below.


Our Form of Government

In 1975, the town of Gaston was incorporated into Lexington County, making it one of the 14 municipalities in the county. The Gaston Town Council adopted a mayor-council government system by the ordinance on December 2, 1975. This means that our mayor will serve as the chief executive officer of our town.

Information About Our Government Election

The mayor and the council will each serve a four-year term in staggered elections. There will be an election held on the 21st of January of each even-numbered year or the 3rd Tuesday in January of each odd-numbered year. Each newly elected officer shall take office at the first regular Town Council meeting in February after the elections.


Details About Our Town Council Meetings

The regularly scheduled meetings of our Town Council take place at the Gaston Police Department Bldg. in 186 N. Carlisle Street. These happen every first Tuesday of the month at 7 PM. The meetings are open to the public.

If the first Tuesday falls on a holiday, the meeting will be held on the following Tuesday. Notices of meetings and agendas are posted at the Town Hall.

Troy Bivens

Mayor of the Town of Gaston, South Carolina

The Mayor’s Office Mission Statement

The mission of the Mayor’s Office is to uphold the standards set on our office and in the State of South Carolina. We aim to see the town of Gaston reach its goals in its ever-changing and growing community. In this regard, our mayor shall do the following:

  • Preside at all town meetings;
  • Lead, guide, and develop (in conjunction with the Town Council and others) short and long term growth and development goals and plans for the town;
  • Represent the town and promote its interests at the local, county, state, and national levels and in economic and industrial development; and
  • Be the head of the town for all ceremonial and spokesperson purposes.

As our current mayor, Troy Bivens will continue to work hard — alongside the Town Council and staff — to see that the town has every opportunity to grow economically, to improve the quality of life, and to build a strong, vibrant community. The Town of Gaston, South Carolina will keep on prospering through the unwavering support and involvement of the community members.

Our Dedicated Mayor and Town Council Members

Troy Bivens


Third Term (Ends in January 2025)

Carol McCombs

Council Member

Second Term (Ends in January 2025)

Mike Cook

Mayor Pro Tem

Second Term (Ends in January 2025)

Charles Sharpe

Council Member

First Term (Ends in January 2027)

Jimmy Cox

Council Member

Second Term (Ends in January 2027)