In 1975 the Town of Gaston was Incorporated into Lexington County. Gaston is one of 14 municipalities in Lexington County. The Gaston Town Council adopted the Mayor-Council form of government by ordinance on Dec. 2, 1975. The Mayor serves as Chief Executive Officer.

Mayor and Council serve four-year terms, staggered terms. Election are held the 21st of January of each even numbered year or on the 3rd Tuesday in January of each odd numbered year, and each newly elected official shall take office at the first regular Council meeting in February after the election.
Regular scheduled meetings of the Town Council are at the Gaston Police Department Bldg., 186 N. Carlisle Street, on the first Tuesday of every month at 7p.m. Meetings are open to the public. When the first Tuesday falls on a holiday, the meeting will be held on the following Tuesday. Notices of meeting and agendas are posted at the Town Hall.